Last updated · Sources: BLS OEWS May 2025, North Carolina certification rules: NCDMV School Bus Endorsements, North Carolina certification rules: N.C. G.S. 20-218, each employer's source, linked in the tables below
North Carolina school bus driver pay by district
About 12,390 school bus drivers work in North Carolina. The middle (median) driver earns $18.01/hr ($37,460/yr), according to the BLS. Below, 6 districts and bus companies are ranked by their own published starting pay.
Find your North Carolina district
Start typing for suggestions. Zip lookup covers SC, NC and GA, using Census zip-to-county data.
Districts ranked by starting pay
- $21.00/hr to start — KIPP Durham (charter) (Durham County · 2026-27)
- $20.04/hr to start — Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (Mecklenburg County · 2026-27)
- $20.00/hr to start — Wake County Public Schools (Wake County · 2026-27)
- $20.00/hr to start — Union County Public Schools (Union County · 2026-27)
- $20.00/hr to start — First Student — Greensboro (Guilford County · 2026)
- $16.38/hr to start — Guilford County Schools (Guilford County · 2026-27)
Pay range statewide (BLS, May 2025)
| Bottom 10% | 25% | Median | 75% | Top 10% | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hourly | $15.51 | $17.01 | $18.01 | $21.38 | $22.58 |
| Yearly | $32,270 | $35,370 | $37,460 | $44,480 | $46,960 |
Compare by county
Full details for every North Carolina employer
| Employer | Start $/hr | Top $/hr | Sign-on bonus | Paid CDL training | Guaranteed hours | Summer pay | Pay year / notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Mecklenburg County (Charlotte), NC · Mecklenburg County · District |
$20.04 | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 "Paid Training Available." Hiring at 18+. | CMS Become a Driver page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Wake County Public Schools Wake County (Raleigh), NC · Wake County · District |
$20.00 | not stated | $1,200 sign-on + up to $4,000/yr attendance & retention bonuses | Yes | not stated Up to 4 hrs AM + 4 hrs PM; must be available 30 hrs/week | not stated | 2026-27 "We'll pay for your CDL license." | WCPSS bus driver careers page checked 2026-10-30 |
| Union County Public Schools Union County (Monroe), NC · Union County · District |
$20.00 | not stated | not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 Starting rate $20.00/hr; paid training for driver trainees; separate recruitment bonus program for referrals. | UCPS We Are Hiring page checked 2026-10-30 |
| First Student — Greensboro Guilford County (Greensboro), NC · Guilford County · Contractor |
$20.00 | not stated | not stated | not stated | 4 hrs/day CDL required for this posting | not stated | 2026 | First Student posting JR14229 checked 2026-10-30 |
| Guilford County Schools Guilford County (Greensboro), NC · Guilford County · District |
$16.38 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated 10-month, full-time | not stated | 2026-27 Paid on classified grade 62. | LinkedIn copy of district posting (third-party) GCS compensation page checked 2026-10-30 |
| KIPP Durham (charter) Durham, NC · Durham County · Charter school |
$21.00 | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated | 2026-27 CDL required. | KIPP NC career board posting checked 2026-10-30 |
Pay by metro area (BLS)
| Area | Drivers | Median $/hr | Bottom 10% | Top 10% |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asheville, NC | 260 | $18.57 | $13.21 | $22.69 |
| Burlington, NC | 70 | $17.78 | $16.07 | $21.38 |
| Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC | 3970 | $22.12 | $16.98 | $24.03 |
| Durham-Chapel Hill, NC | 500 | $19.54 | $17.52 | $23.92 |
| Fayetteville, NC | 450 | $16.85 | $12.89 | $21.98 |
| Goldsboro, NC | 130 | $16.92 | $15.04 | $19.63 |
| Greensboro-High Point, NC | 1030 | $17.92 | $16.95 | $23.21 |
| Greenville, NC | 190 | $17.55 | $16.56 | $18.75 |
| Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton, NC | 250 | $17.77 | $16.16 | $18.25 |
| Pinehurst-Southern Pines, NC | 60 | $17.21 | $15.86 | $21.21 |
| Raleigh-Cary, NC | 2120 | $18.52 | $13.93 | $22.98 |
| Rocky Mount, NC | 270 | $19.52 | $13.67 | $19.52 |
| Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC | 2390 | $24.13 | $19.46 | $29.91 |
| Wilmington, NC | 140 | $17.54 | $13.38 | $20.92 |
| Winston-Salem, NC | 630 | $17.70 | $16.22 | $21.22 |
| Eastern North Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 990 | $17.26 | $15.31 | $21.21 |
| Central North Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 840 | $16.98 | $15.93 | $17.66 |
| Western North Carolina nonmetropolitan area | 750 | $16.91 | $15.83 | $22.44 |
How to become a school bus driver in North Carolina
- Minimum age 18, with at least 6 months of driving experience on a full license.
- You must be sponsored by a school transportation provider (a district or charter) to take school bus training.
- You need a CDL with P and S endorsements and an NCDMV School Bus Driver's Certificate: NCDMV-approved training, knowledge tests (80%), then pre-trip, backing and road skills tests.
- The certificate renews every 3 years.
Looking for an employer that pays while you train? See paid CDL training in North Carolina.
Federal rules that apply in every state
- Since Feb 7, 2022, anyone getting a P (passenger) or S (school bus) endorsement for the first time must finish Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) from a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry before the skills test.
- ELDT has two parts: online/classroom theory (80% passing score on the assessment) and behind-the-wheel training. S-endorsement training must use a representative school bus.
- There is no federal minimum number of hours; the provider certifies you are proficient.
- Use FMCSA's Find a Provider search, filtered to your state and "School Bus," to find a registered trainer.
Need the ELDT theory part for an upgrade or new endorsement? One option is DLA Academy's online theory courses (promo code ANDREW). Check that any provider is on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry first. Affiliate link: School Bus Pay may earn a commission if you sign up through it. Listing it isn't an endorsement of any school.
Frequently asked questions
How much do school bus drivers make in North Carolina?
The BLS median for school bus drivers in North Carolina is $18.01/hr ($37,460/yr), with the bottom 10% at $15.51 and the top 10% at $22.58 (OEWS May 2025). Among the 6 North Carolina employers we list with a published starting rate, starting pay runs from $16.38/hr (Guilford County Schools) to $21.00/hr (KIPP Durham (charter)).
Which North Carolina district pays school bus drivers the most?
KIPP Durham (charter) has the highest starting rate we found in North Carolina, at $21.00/hr (2026-27). Each figure links to the employer's own salary schedule or posting in the list above.
Which North Carolina employers offer paid CDL training?
3 North Carolina employers we list say on their own page or posting that training is paid: Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, Wake County Public Schools, Union County Public Schools. The rest don't say either way. See our paid CDL training list.
How do you become a school bus driver in North Carolina?
Minimum age 18, with at least 6 months of driving experience on a full license. New P or S endorsement holders must also finish federal Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) first.
The Bus Lot Weekly
New raises, sign-on bonuses and paid-training offers near you, every week. Free.
Free weekly email. Unsubscribe anytime.
