Last updated · Sources: First Student posting JR14224, BLS OEWS May 2025

First Student — Dalton school bus driver pay

First Student — Dalton pays school bus drivers $21.85–$25.20/hr (source: First Student posting JR14224; updated Oct 30, 2026).

Dalton (Whitfield County), Georgia. Everything below comes from the linked source, checked 2026-10-30. A blank means the source doesn't say.

Starting pay

$21.85/hr

2026

Top of scale

$25.20/hr

Sign-on bonus

$500 permit (CLP) bonus within 7 days; $200 within 14

Paid CDL training

Yes

Details

Employer typeContractor
AreaDalton (Whitfield County)
Pay year2026
Guaranteed hours5 hrs/day
Hours / daysnot stated
Summer paynot stated
Training paybacknot stated
NotesPermit bonus offer ends 12/31/26.

Sources

How it compares

The starting rate is $0.24 above the Georgia median for school bus drivers ($21.61/hr, BLS OEWS May 2025). The BLS median covers drivers at every experience level, so a new driver's rate is often below it.

Whitfield County employerStart $/hrTop $/hrSign-on bonus
First Student — Dalton (this page)$21.85$25.20$500 permit (CLP) bonus within 7 days; $200 within 14

Whitfield County comparison · Georgia school bus driver pay by district · Paid CDL training list · Split-shift calculator

Share this pay card

First Student — Dalton pays bus drivers $21.85–$25.20/hr — schoolbuspay.com

Get an email when First Student — Dalton pay changes

We recheck every district's pay source regularly. Sign up and you'll hear about new pay scales, raises and bonuses in The Bus Lot Weekly. Free, unsubscribe anytime.

What's it really like driving for First Student — Dalton?

Be the first to share. No reviews yet for this district.

Share your experience (anonymous)
I am a

No names, please (yours or anyone else's). We read every review before it goes up, and we may edit out personal details. Nothing appears until it's approved.

Frequently asked questions

How much does First Student — Dalton pay school bus drivers?

Starting pay is $21.85/hr and the schedule tops out at $25.20/hr (2026), per First Student posting JR14224.

Does First Student — Dalton offer paid CDL training?

Yes, according to the source linked on this page.

Does First Student — Dalton offer a sign-on bonus for bus drivers?

Yes: $500 permit (CLP) bonus within 7 days; $200 within 14. Details and conditions are in the linked source (First Student posting JR14224).

The Bus Lot Weekly

New raises, sign-on bonuses and paid-training offers near you, every week. Free.

Free weekly email. Unsubscribe anytime.